Hawaiian Nite with Jo

30 7月

今日はJoの希望に応えてHawaiian Niteでした!Joは今月San Diegoに引っ越します。Today was Hawaiian Nite upon Jo’s request.  Jo is moving to San Diego this month. 

Kentくん、Hawaiianピザを手にするHideお兄ちゃんと一緒にポーズ。Kent and Hide with his Hawaiian pizza.

Akikoの部屋にようこそ!Joちゃん、直撃インタビュー。
Jo, welcome to an interview time with Akiko! 

Joは中国で生まれましたが、小学生のときに、家族が日本に移りました。裕福なうちに育ち、一人っ子だったので、両親の期待も大きかったそうです。日本に慣れるのは大変だったけど、勉強も頑張って、主席で学校を卒業するほどの優等生でした。でも、そんな優等生の枠にはまりきらなかったJoは実は学校外では、ヤンキー生活をしていました。そして、学校卒業後は渡米することを決めて、数年前にアメリカにやってきました。 Jo grew up in China but her family moved to Japan when he was in elementary school. She grew up in a rich family as the only child and her parents had big expectations for her.  It was hard to get used to the life in Japan, but she worked hard and became the top student in her school.  However, there was another side of her that didn’t quite fit the “good” student image.  She hang out with teen gangs out of school and did some wild things.  Then after graduating from school,  she decided to come to the US.

渡米してから数日後に会ったのがAkikoさんでした。そしてRice of Lifeの集まりに来るようになりました。アメリカに来て、クリスチャンの友人が増えたそうです。Jo met Akiko few days after coming to the US, and she started to attend the Rice of Life meetings.  She made many Christian friends after coming to the US.

色々な経緯を経て、今年クリスチャンになったJoですが、クリスチャンになった後、彼女はどう変わったのでしょうか?昔は全部自分でして、何でも一番になるように頑張らなくてはならない、と思う気持ちに駆り立てられていたそうですが、クリスチャンになって、別に一番になることに駆り立てられる必要はないんだ、と感じたそうです。 Jo became a Christian earlier this year, but what has changed after she became Christian?  In the past she felt like she needed to do everything by herself, and she had to work hard to become first in everything, but after she became Christian, she felt that she doesn’t have to be pressured to become first in everything.   

Joが笑顔でSharingするのを見ながら、私が思ったのは、他人と比較して自分の価値を決めるのではなく、神様が私たちに与えられたことを忠実にこなすことのほうが大事なんだな~ということでした。As I was looking at Jo and her lovely smile, I thought how great it is to know that our worth doesn’t depend upon how well we do than others.  But God sees how faithful we are to what He gives us to do, and we don’t have to compare how we do things better than other people. 

TomasonがJoに花束贈呈~。Jo receives flowers from Tomason.

 

7月はKentくんのバースデーでした。お誕生日おめでとう!July was Kent’s birthday month!  Happy b-day Kent!

コメントを残す

