Yuko’s sharing about her volunteer work experience for the earthquake and tsunami victims in Tohoku

24 2月

今日はpotluck dinnerでした!たくさんの人が、それぞれいろんなものをもちよってくれて、こんなにたくさんのたべものが集まりました! Today was potluck dinner!  Many people brought different dishes and we had this many dinner on the table!

もってきてくださった方々、ありがとうございました!!!! Thank you everyone for bring food!!!!

ゲームは、りなちゃん&けんとくんリードのもと、フルーツバスケットをみんなでしました☆ Rina and Kento led the game, “fruits basket.”

初めての人が今日は5人ほどきてくれたので、ゲームでみんなで楽しめて良かったです! We had five new people today, and we enjoyed the game together!

そしてゆうこちゃんの東北で1カ月経験したボランティアのお話。Then Yuko shared her experience of one month volunteering at Tohoku area. 

東北の地震からもうすぐで1年が経ちます。私は、いまだにあの地震があったこと、信じられないです。でも今回ゆうこちゃんの経験を聞く事ができて、東北の人たちの為に祈る事、あらためて彼らに祈りが必要な事を彼女の話を通してわかりました。  It’s nearly one year from the earthquake in Tohoku area.  I still couldn’t believe that we had such a terrible earthquake.    I understood how it is important to pray for people in Tohoku as I listend to her experience. 

東北は特に今の時期、とても寒いし、お年寄りは外に出られず、仮設にいる人たちも、みんながみんな知り合いというわけでもないので、孤独感を感じている人たちがたくさんいるようです。Tohoku is very cold in the winter, and elderly people could not go outside.  Also, those who are in shelters do not know each other, so many people are feeling lonely. 

ゆうこちゃんが出会ったある1人の小学生の女の子は、仮設で唯一の小学生で、その子はおばあちゃんと愛犬を津波で亡くし、両親は仕事でほぼいないので、いつも1人で小石をひろっては、その石を積み上げて、祈っていたそうです。One girl that Yuko met was the only elementary student in the shelter, and she lost her grandma and her dog because of Tsunami.  Her parents are both gone most of the time because of work, so she was picking stones alone and praying to God.     

直に被災者の人たちとお話したりしてきたゆうこちゃんの体験談は、アメリカにいるわたしたちにとって、とても貴重でした。The experience of Yuko, who was directly involved in helping victims, was valuable for us living in America to understand the situation in Tohoku.   

わたしたちにできることは本当に少ないけれど、祈りの力を知っている私たちだからこそ、これからも東北の為に1つになって祈っていきたいと思いました。 We may only have a few things we could do to help, but since we know the power of prayer,  I felt the importance for us to come together to pray for Tohoku area. 

ゆうこちゃん、シェアありがとうございました!Thank you Yuko for sharing!

コメントを残す

